Search Results for 'the Connacht Tribune'
31 results found.
November 1920 was a bloody month in Galway with the killing of Eileen Quinn, Fr Michael Griffin, Michael Moran, and Harry and Patrick Loughnane. D Company Auxiliaries had made their presence felt.
Crane’s Strand or Tráigh na gCorr appears on the 1651 map. It would seem to be the Whitestrand area before the building of Grattan Road. In Dutton’s 1824 survey we read: “It seems to be the general opinion of the oldest inhabitants that for some years past, storms and rains have been more frequent from the west than formerly. (Rice was sown here in 1585). As some corroboration of this idea, the encroachment of the sea near Recorder’s Quay on the west side of Galway, may be adduced, where the marks of the potato ridges may be seen, and where, only a few years ago were in cultivation, though they are now covered at every tide. Lately, the ground near Recorder’s Quay has been reclaimed by Mr Bulteel, and promises to remunerate his very spirited exertion.” (Probably the first ever reclamation of land in Salthill).
The tall building in the centre of our picture of New Docks Road taken in 1903 was known as “Gas Tank” Flaherty’s pub. We presume he got his nickname because of the gasworks across the street. It was here that the distinguished English painter Augustus John lived for several weeks in 1914. He did a lot of painting and drawing around the city and especially the docks area, but when the World War I started, he began to worry that the locals would regard him as an English spy, so he went back to England.
Fifty years ago last April, on the very first edition of the new Galway Advertiser, was an impressive and rare in those days, colour photograph of the proposed Leisureland development planned for Salthill. Under a headline of Galway in the 1970s, it promised a facility that would be at the heart of Galway and west of Ireland life for years to come. And so it has been.
THE WRITERS Ron Silliman, Molly Harris, and Fintan Coughlan will read from their works at the September Over The Edge: Open Reading on Zoom.
THIS WEEK marks the centenary of one of the darkest episodes in the history of Galway as violence erupted on its streets resulting in a “night of terror” that left three young men dead.
Pádraig Ó Céidigh was appointed to the department of botany in UCG, in the autumn of 1956. He arrived for his first lecture in his typically distinctive style, that would continue to the point of eccentricity, yet he would play a vital role in developing a small department in a prefab laboratory, into one of the leading world class marine science institutions in NUIG today.
The Discipline of Journalism and Communication at NUI Galway will host the inaugural ‘John Cunningham Journalism Lecture’ on Monday,November 18 at 5pm in the Aula Maxima. The event honours the late Connacht Tribune Editor and long-time journalism lecturer John Cunningham.
The success of the nine-year partnership between Baboró, the international festival for children, and Medtronic has been recognised in this year's 28th Allianz Business to Arts Awards.