Search Results for 'Four Courts Press'
14 results found.
Uí Mhaine book launch at Kennys this evening
The launch of the new book by archaeology scholar and author Daniel Patrick Curley will take place at Kennys Bookshop this evening Thursday November 21 and all are welcome. The Uí Chellaig lords of Uí Maine and Tír Maine, just published by Four Courts Press, will be launched by Dr. Kenneth Coyne who will interview Curley about his new book. The event is free to attend.
New book studies Galway’s hidden revolution
Galway’s town hall was occupied by housing protesters in 1922, and a soviet declared. Land seizures across the county shocked the government of the newly independent state, while a huge bronze statue in Eyre Square was dragged by a mob into the sea.
Firing squads and street battles in Galway
‘My dearest mother,
‘There is a gentle and subtle power to her voice’
SHE WAS called the “Queen of Irish Song” by Séamus Ennis; she was recorded by Alan Lomax and is admired by Christy Moore; and her versions of Gaelic song have been covered by Clannad and Iarla Ó Lionáird.
Tuam man’s murder led to eight further deaths and miscarriage of justice, new TG4 drama-doc reveals
A plan to kill a Tuam man in 1883 led directly to a total of nine deaths including six hangings, one of which is now believed to have been a miscarriage of justice, according to The Queen v Patrick O’Donnell, a new book by Connemara-based author, Seán Ó Cuirreáin, which is to be the basis of a forthcoming TG4 drama-documentary.
The professor and his dog
Pádraig Ó Céidigh was appointed to the department of botany in UCG, in the autumn of 1956. He arrived for his first lecture in his typically distinctive style, that would continue to the point of eccentricity, yet he would play a vital role in developing a small department in a prefab laboratory, into one of the leading world class marine science institutions in NUIG today.
New book gives oral history of NUIG
A HISTORY of NUI Galway, in the days when it called UCG, drawn from the memories of college presidents and grounds staff, to various students, all who attended over a period of 40 years, is collected in a new book by Jackie Ui Chionna.
A god with feet of clay
Week VI
The call of St James was heard once more...
Seventy years after Margaret Athy’s generous patronage of the Augustine abbey and buildings on Fort Hill (originally St Augustine’s Hill), with its commanding view of the port and the town, the place was turned into a butcher’s block. Approximately 300 survivors of the ill-fated Armada were beheaded there.
A ‘cheerful, and amiable saint’.
In the early years of the 16th century, Stephen Lynch fitz Dominick was returning from an extended trading voyage in Spain. He set out with a full cargo, probably of hides, wool, and fish, which he hoped to trade for wine and iron with Spanish merchants. As he approached Galway port he was surprised to see a church and buildings almost completed on Fort Hill (originally called St Augustine’s Hill), a prominent site visible from both the town and the sea. They were not there when he left.